Public Document Pack

BARBICAN CENTRE BOARD

Thursday, 6 May 2021

Minutes of the meeting of the Barbican Centre Board held virtually (accessible remotely) https://youtu.be/Hx9ivfEWxB4 on Thursday, 6 May 2021 at 4.45pm

Present

Members:

Deputy Tom Sleigh (Chair) Stephen Bediako (Deputy Chairman) Tijs Broeke (Deputy Chairman) Munsur Ali Randall Anderson Russ Carr (External Member) Zulum Elumogo (External Member) Anne Fairweather Alderman David Graves Gerard Grech (External Member)

Deputy Wendy Hyde (Ex-Officio Member) Vivienne Littlechild Jeremy Mayhew Wendy Mead Lucy Musgrave (External Member) Mark Page (External Member) Jens Riegelsberger (External Member) Jane Roscoe (External Member) The Rt Hon. The Lord Mayor, Alderman William Russell

In Attendance

Tobi Ruth (Observer)

Officers:

Sir Nicholas Kenyon	 Managing Director, The Barbican Centre
Sandeep Dwesar	- Chief Operating & Financial Officer, Barbican
	Centre
Rhiannon Leary	 Town Clerk's Department
Kerry Nicholls	 Town Clerk's Department
James Gibson	 Chamberlain's Department
Andrew Buckingham	- Communication's Team, Town Clerk's Department
-	

1. **APOLOGIES**

Apologies for absence were received from Jenny Waldman (External Member).

MEMBERS' DECLARATIONS UNDER THE CODE OF CONDUCT IN 2. **RESPECT OF ITEMS ON THE AGENDA** There were no declarations.

ORDER OF THE COURT 3.

The Order of the Court, appointing the Board and setting its terms of reference, was received.

4. **ELECTION OF A CHAIRMAN**

In accordance with Standing Order No. 29, the Board proceeded to elect a Chairman for the ensuing year. The Town Clerk advised that one expression of interest for the role of Chair had been received. Deputy Tom Sleigh, being the only Member expressing his willingness to serve, was duly elected as Chair.

The Chair thanked Members for their support and was pleased to be taking the Board forward at a time of recovery from the global health pandemic caused by Covid-19.

5. ELECTION OF A DEPUTY CHAIRMAN

The Board proceeded to elect a Deputy Chairman (Elected Member) in accordance with Standing Order No. 30. The Town Clerk read a list of Members eligible to stand and, with both Randall Anderson and Tijs Broeke expressing willingness to serve, a ballot was held.

Votes were cast as follows:

Randall Anderson – 4 votes. Tijs Broeke – 14 votes.

Tijs Broeke was therefore duly elected Deputy Chairman (Elected Member) for the ensuing year. The Deputy Chairman thanked the Board for their support.

The Board proceeded to elect a Deputy Chairman (External Member) in accordance with a convention adopted by the Board at its meeting on 24 March 2021. The Town Clerk advised that one expression of interest for the role of Deputy Chairman (External Member) had been received. Stephen Bediako, being the only Member expressing his willingness to serve, was duly elected as Deputy Chairman. The Deputy Chairman thanked the Board for their support.

The meeting ended at 5.04pm

Chairman

Contact Officer: Leanne Murphy tel. no.: 020 7332 3008 leanne.murphy@cityoflondon.gov.uk